Home » Country Profiles » Vanuatu

Vanuatu has a population of approximately 250,000 people. The National Parliament has 52 members. Elections are held every 4 years. There are 17 constituencies used, with between 1 and 7-member constituencies. Vanuatu uses the single-non-transferable-vote system. Since Independence, only five women have been elected to the National Parliament.

An amendment to the Municipalities Act passed in 2013 has allowed for a 30 per cent quota for women’s representation within some of the municipal councils of Vanuatu. The adoption of quota mechanisms at municipal level was initiated by the Director of Women’s Affairs to tackle the issue of attitudinal resistance of women’s political participation. It was intended to begin a gradual approach moving from the lowest level of government, the municipal councils, to provincial governments and finally to the national parliament. The adoption of this legislation has seen an increase in the number of women within the municipal councils.

A total of 261 candidates contested the January 2016 general elections, with 68 independents and 193 candidates from 36 political parties. 10 women contested in the 2016 election representing 3.8% of all candidates. Unfortunately, no women have been elected into the current Parliament. A total of 295 candidates contested the 19th March 2020 general election, of which 17 are women (6%). A total of 50 political parties, and 55 independent candidates (19.1%) were registered in the lead up to elections. Unfortunately, following the announcement of election results, no women were elected.

A snap election was held on 13 October 2022, due to the early dissolution of Parliament. Eight female candidates contested the election. One women was successful, Hon Gloria Julia King, the first woman elected since 2008.

Hon Julia King

Party: N/A

Term: 2022-current

Electorate: Mele

Province: Port Vila

Political Status: Current MP

No Women MPs