Constitution of the Autonomous Region of Bougainville 2004

Home » Resources » WIP Legislation » Constitution of the Autonomous Region of Bougainville 2004

In the Autonomous Region of Bougainville in PNG, following the end of the twenty year conflict, a new constitution and electoral system were devised in 2004. The Constitution will guide the region for ten years, after which a referendum will be held for the region to decide on its own long-term future. The Constitution reserves three seats in the legislature for women (and three seats would also be reserved for ex-combatants), with the seats elected directly by the people. Both women and men are allowed to vote for all seats. Bougainville has 33 constituencies to elect ordinary members. The province is also divided into 3 bigger constituencies – North, Central and South – and these are used for the 3 seats reserved for women (and 3 excombatants). Each voter casts 3 votes for representatives in the Legislative Assembly – one for their local MP, one for the reserved woman’s seat and one for the reserved ex-combatant’s seat