Media release: Nauru President names his Cabinet

Home » Resources » News » Media release: Nauru President names his Cabinet

13th June, 2013

Government Information Office

For Immediate Release
13 June, 2013

President Waqa names his cabinet

His Excellency President Baron Waqa announced his cabinet line-up at the first sitting of the 21st parliament this morning (13 June) which includes two of the newly elected members of parliament (MP). President Waqa will hold the portfolios of Chairman of the Cabinet, Minister for the Public Service, Foreign Affairs & Trade, Climate Change, Police & Emergency Services.

Hon David Adeang is Minister Assisting the President, Finance & Sustainable Development, Justice, Eigigu Holdings Corporation and Nauru Air Corporation.

Hon Valdon Dowiyogo is Minister for Health, Transport, Sport and Fisheries.

Newly elected MP Aaron Cook is Minister for Commerce, Industry and Environment as well as Ronphos and Nauru Rehabilitation Corporation.

Also newly elected MP and the second woman parliamentarian Mrs Charmaine Scotty is Minister for Home Affairs, Education and Youth, and Land Management.

Hon Shadlog Bernicke is Minister for Nauru Phosphate Royalties Trust, Telecommunications, and Nauru Utilities Corporation.

The Cabinet was sworn in yesterday afternoon (12 June) in the president’s office.

The parliament sitting today continues.

Back to News