Lawyer Gabrissa Hartman is Nauru’s new Member of Parliament

Home » Resources » News » Lawyer Gabrissa Hartman is Nauru’s new Member of Parliament

20th January, 2017

Gabrissa Hartman elected in by-election

Lawyer and former Deputy Clerk of Parliament, Gabrissa Hartman has been elected a Member of Parliament in the Nauru parliament. Hartman is the new MP for the Ubenide constituency and is Nauru’s second woman parliamentarian in the current parliament. She received an absolute majority of 817 votes to 696 votes tallied by Wawani Dowiyogo when the first, second, third, fourth and fifth preference votes were allocated during counting last night.

Hartman is no stranger to politics having contested the general election for the same constituency last July. She lost to the late Minister Dowiyogo. Her grandfather was the late Derog Gioura, a Member of Parliament for Ubenide and an interim President of Nauru in 2003.

A total of 13 candidates contested the by-election yesterday for the Ubenide Constituency which was left vacant with the passing away of Minister for Health, Sports and Fisheries, Valdon Dowiyogo last month. According to a declaration by Electoral Commissioner Joseph Cain, a total of 1550 votes were cast. There were 37 invalid votes.


Back to News