5 Female Candidates out of 68 Contesting Nauru General Election 8 June 2013

Home » Resources » News » 5 Female Candidates out of 68 Contesting Nauru General Election 8 June 2013

01st June, 2013

Elections Candidates listed in Gazette 78 of 2013 28 May 2013

Constituency of Aiwo

Ms. Pamela Eibutsina Scriven – Representative for Nauru to the Global Peace Council and Chairperson of Nauru Community Australia Inc.

Constituency of Anabar (AnabarIjuwAnibare)
Ms. Melissa Ika – School Principal, Nauru College

Constituency of Boe
Ms. Lidira Ephraim – Secretariat of the Pacific Community

Constituency of Yaren
Ms. Charmaine Eraidinomo Scotty – Secretary of Justice, Government of Nauru

Constituency of Menang
Ms. Jerielyn Teleni, Secretary-General, Nauru National Commission for UNESCO


Controversial Nauru President Sprent Dabwido is amongst Nauru’s 68 candidates who go to the poll this weekend vying for a spot in a 19-seat parliament.

President Dabwido, who will stand in the Meneng district, which will benefit with an extra seat in the bigger parliament, declared a State of Emergency last month bringing forward the election date from June 22 to June 8.

Parliament passed the extra seat from 18 to 19 members in July last year.

The additional member will be placed in the Meneng district, taking its representation in parliament to three.

Dabwido, Marcus Stephen, Ludwig Scotty, Godfrey Thoma and Roland Kun will stand for the polls this weekend.

Last April Speaker Ludwig Scotty read out a letter in parliament from President Dabwido seeking to dissolve parliament without holding a debate.

This was challenged in court by non-Government members and parliament was ordered by Chief Justice Sir Geoffrey Eames to resume and follow proper constitutional procedures.

Scotty resigned as speaker on April 18 and new Speaker Godfrey Thoma was nominated by Opposition MP and former President Marcus Stephen.

President Dabwido and his members boycotted parliament and avoided an imminent vote of no confidence.

After the last session of parliament last month President Dabwido declared a state of emergency (SOE) to release funds for departmental use and overseas medical referrals, which included funds for food supplies for their hospital.

His own Finance Minister Roland Kun resigned a day after the SOE was declared stating that the President disputing the President’s reasons for making the declaration.

As part of the SOE declaration, he ordered the removal of Speaker Thoma and his deputy for their part in delaying the dissolution.

President Dabwido has also asked local Government media outlets to run all interview requests through him to, ‘stop MPs attacking each other’.

Nauru’s elections office says proxy applications opened on 27 May 2013 when poll date was declared and will close at 11 am tomorrow morning (Friday June 7).

Here the full list of candidates contesting Saturday’s election:

  • Aiwo Constituency Lance Agir, Milton Ross Dube, Godfrey Thoma, Pamela Eibutsina ScrivenDantes Ingin Tsitsi, Aaron Stein Cook, Preston ThomaTazio Gideon.
  • Anabar Constituency Riddel Akua, Jaden Akua, Tyrone Deiye, Ludwig Derangadage Scotty, Melissa Ika, Paul Nubwitt Doguape.
  • Anetan Constituency Haseldon Buraman, Cyril Buraman, Landon Deirerenga, Marcus Stephen, Begg Adire, Paul Ika.
  • Boe Constituency Kinza Clodumar, Baron WaqaLidira Ephraim, Mathew Batsiua, Abraham Aremwa, Bryan Star.
  • Bauda Constituency Vinson Franco DetenamoShadlog Bernicke, Roland Kun, Bingham Agir, Ace Capelle, Arrow Depaune, Ishmael Fritz, Sean Halstead.
  • Meneng Constituency Lionel Aingimea, Squire Jeremiah, Lyn WannanTawaki KamRykers Solomon, John Taumea AgadioElvin BrechterfeldSambruce AkibwibSprent Arumogo DabwidoDoneke, Jim Kepae, Clint DeidenangNickos Simon, Nemo Levi AgadioJerielyn Teleni
  • Ubenide Constituency Valdon Kape Dowiyogo, Samuel Hansome Adumur, Russ Kun, Frederick Pitcher, Renos Agege, David AdeangRanin Akua, Darned Dongobir, George Giovanni Gioura, Aloysius Amwano, Julian Itsimaera, David DowiyogoArde Ricky Bam, Vyko Pentaz Adeang.
  • Yaren Constituency John Daigon Panen Julius, Dominic TabunaCharmaine Scotty, Omeri Agigo, Dr Kieren Keke, Brian Amwano.

The election which was pushed from June 22 to Jun 8 is expected to cost AU$40,000.

Back to News