Home » Country Profiles » Tuvalu

Tuvalu is a small island state with a population of approximately 10,000 people. The Tuvalu Parliament has 15 members. There are no formal political parties in Tuvalu and election campaigns are largely based on personal/family ties and reputation. Tuvalu elects its members from 8 island constituencies – seven of the constituencies have two members and one constituency has one member. Elections are held every 4 years.

Since independence, there have been only two woman elected to the national Parliament, and few women choose to run as candidates. In the 2006 election, there were only two women candidates. In the 2010 elections, no women were elected, but following a bye-election due to the death of a members of parliament, Hon Pelenika Isaia was elected. More women have become involved at the local level of government, with women participating in the quarterly meetings of Falekaupule Assemblies and serving on various development committees in the Kaupule (Council) for each island.

In the most recent General Election on Tuesday March 31, 2015 a total of 29 candidates stood for elections.  There was only three women candidates (10%), Dr Puakena Boreham and Pelenike Tekinene Isaia, who were both vying for the two seats of the Nui Electoral District. The third candidate was Hilia Vavae from the Nanumea Electoral District.

Dr Puakene Boreham was the only woman who won her seat, being the one woman (6%) in a 15 member parliament.

Dr Puakena Boreham

Party: Independent

Electorate: Nui

Province: N/A

Political Status: Minister for Natural Resources and Lands

No Women MPs