MP Hon. Vika Lusiabaea sworn in - Solomon Islands

Email this page to a friend
Cancel Send

Two newly elected MPs for North Malaita Constituency and West Areare took their oaths before the House on Friday the 14th of September, the first session of the fourth meeting of the 9th Parliament.

According to s63 of the Constitution no member of Parliament is permitted to take part in the proceedings of Parliament until they have made before Parliament an oath of allegiance.

The two are Hon. Vika Lusibaea for the North Malaita constituency and Hon. Andrew Manepora for the East Areare constituency.
Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Hon. Job Dudley Tausinga who presided over the meeting welcomed the two and reminded them of the responsibility ahead of them.

“On behalf of the National Parliament of Solomon Islands I welcome you as the newly elected Members of Parliament for North Malaita and east Areare constituency.

Hon Tausinga further said; “having taken your oath you are now permitted to participate in the proceedings of this Honourable House.  I wish you well in your participation on behalf of your constituents and citizens of this country who had entrusted you with this awesome responsibility.”
The two constituencies went to the polls to elect their members of Parliament on a by election on 1st August 2012.

[National Parliament Solomon Islands]