Email this page to a friend
Cancel Send

National Congress

The Federated States of Micronesia is a small island state with a population of approximately 115,000 people. FSM comprises four states - ChuukKosraePohnpei and Yap. FSM has a national Congress, comprising 14 Senators. Four Senators are elected from the four States, who serve 4 year terms, and 10 Senators are elected from single-member constituencies for 2 year terms. FSM has a presidential system, though unusually, the President is selected by national Senators themselves, from amongst the four State senators elected to the national Congress. 

On March 1 2017, the four states of the Federated States of Micronesia went to the polls to elect the 20th Congress. Two women candidates ran for the Senate for Chuuk State - Ms Cindy Mori and Ms Gardenia Aisek. Of the 14 Senators that were elected, no women were elected to the national Congress. In fact, FSM is one of the only countries in the world to have never elected a women into its national legislature. 

Return to top